Collected: Russell Gardner

Glassy Eyed

I visited my mom and other friends and family in Madison last weekend–and it was actually springtime there!! I wanted to check out some interesting shows at the Chazen and MMoCA but only had time for a quick stop at Escape on Williamson Street, which is a coffeeshop and gallery. I was pleasantly surprised to find great artwork, great coffee, and great people. Sometimes I really, really, really miss living in Madison.

Making a Point

The artist at Escape that interested me the most was Russell Gardner. He is a Madison-based artist that uses mixed media and found objects in his assemblage/sculpture works, which of course resonated with me. I bought six of his works that were mounted on tile (sound familiar?)

Blue Eyes Runny Nose

Library Study

Tiny Green Flame

Line Study

Click here to view the Flickr photos, including details of the work. I will also be adding other artwork I’ve collected to this Flickr set.

Leave a Reply

