collected quotes

I collect quotes.  Here are some good ones I’ve come across recently that I think you’ll enjoy

“I am not careful to justify myself…but lest I should mislead any when I have my own head and obey my own whims, let me remind the reader that I am only an experimenter. Do not set the least value on what I do, or the least discredit on what I do not, as if I pretend to settle anything as true or false. I unsettle all things. No facts are to me sacred; none are profane; I simply experiment, an endless seeker, with no Past at my back.” –Emerson

on Public art: “good artists…are going to be frightened away from public projects by correctness, because correctness is a kind of collaboration, and really has nothing to do with art, and in the end the public will have to live with art that is not just wrong but dull.” –Jane Kramer

“Criticality is a strategy for the production of knowledge. Our view is that art should interrogate the social and cultural ideas of its time. Other places might want a work to produce pleasure or feelings” –Charles Gaines

“Talent is a double-edged sword. What you are given is not really yours. What you work at, what you struggle for, what you have to take command of–that often makes for very good art” –curator Paul Schimmel

Nicholas Logsdail likes artists “who are on a slow burn, very good, very serious, not in the fast track, but pursuing their own artistic interests with tenacity, quirkiness, and confidence”. He says, “the art world has no rules. So I attribute the longevity of my gallery to the fact that I wrote my own”

“I found art school to be liberating, but the commercial art world…is there anywhere you could possibly feel smaller? It’s the only place where you can give away free booze and no one turns up” -artist Phil Collins (not the, but a)

“Award-winning art? The category doesn’t apply. You might find a great work of art in someone falling over in a supermarket. That might be the most extraordinary visual encounter of your day.” -artist Phil Collins

“I want the viewer to expect art to be more than stylized leisure and to be ready to exercise eyes and mind, consciousness and empathy” –curator Yasmil Raymond

Leave a Reply

