Coming Up in 2011

I LOVE New Years because it is the best time in the world to start something, change something, do something new. 2011 is going to be an awesome year. I think and feel, at least for me, that it is going to be a year of major changes. It is going to be a year for cutting out all the bullshit and only taking on what is real and what is interesting. I’m going to try and get out of the rut of killing myself for little in return. This is what I’ve been doing for over two years now and I’m done with it. The nice thing about letting go is that you figure out what you really want out of life. Where do your priorities lie this year?

mountain grid, collograph print

One of my priorities is going to be this blog. Last year I was so busy that I hardly had any time for it, and that is disappointing because I really did have a lot to share. This year, I will be posting regularly (my goal is at least once/day). Topics will be original, interesting, and fun (including the categories to the right).  Look for posts about a broad range of influences, inspirations, and issues in the contemporary arts, of course, along with things like….

Etsy Wednesday and Flickr Friday
Since these are two of my most frequently-visited websites, I will curate an Etsy treasury and a Flickr gallery every week – highlighting some of my best finds.

Art Collecting
As I collect artwork throughout the year, I will be posting about the work and artist behind the work.

Curated Collections
I have been a collector of randomness for as long as I can remember. I will be doing periodic posts about my collections and the collections of others — what I find to be aesthetically interesting and relevant from a design point of view.

Evidence of Difference
I’m really looking forward to my new concept for a daily post – I’ve wanted to do a “once a day for a year” post for about 3 years now, but I’ve never thought of a good enough idea to actually commit to it. The 365 theme has been done so much (drawing a day, photo a day, craft a day, etc.) that I was holding out until I thought of something unique. But more to come on this later – it’s starting on January 1st so you don’t have to wait long!

Also look for posts about my curatorial projects at the Eclipse Gallery and elsewhere, news about the print magazine I edit and write for, Art Nowhere, and lots of posts about my personal artwork and other things my husband and I make for Hemm Handmade throughout the year.

So that is the direction I’m headed in 2011. I’m sure it will evolve from there. My word of the year is flexibility.

What are your goals for 2011? What projects do you have coming up?

3 thoughts on “Coming Up in 2011

  1. Hey Sarah. Wishing you all the best in this upcoming year of great changes for both us. You really are an inspiration to other artists, such as myself. I don’t know where you get the energy to do all that you do. Please know that you are an amazing asset in Algoma and the community has been enriched so much by your presence there. I am blessed to know you and I wish you all the success you deserve both professionally and personally.

Leave a Reply

