Evidence of Difference Day 1

I’ve wanted to do a “once a day for a year” post for about 3 years now, but never thought of a concept original or interesting enough to commit to it. So as the New Year was coming up, I asked myself, what do I do every day that is different from everybody else? This was a hard question to answer, and I had a moment of panic – Oh shit! Am I just normal?! (Being normal has been a fear of mine since I was a young child. My husband tells me I have nothing to worry about). My 365 theme would have to be something that sets me apart (which begged the question, what does set me apart?). But I think the Evidence of Difference concept had been somewhere deep in my brain stewing for awhile now, and 2011 must be the right year to follow through with it.

I realized that I don’t have to force this concept or think of an exact something.
I just need to be myself and do it.

Every day I do or see or think or create something that only I could. We all do, even if we don’t realize it. The Evidence of Difference series will document how I create, live, and see the world in my own light – how I contribute difference to the world. Being normal is scary. This will be proof that I’m not. After the year is up and the blog posts done, I aim to translate the series into a gallery exhibition and book as well.

So, throughout 2011, visit the Evidence of Difference category here or subscribe to my feed to follow my progress through this ever-evolving series of artwork.

Day One:

New Year, New Leak (1-1-11)

Leave a Reply

