a new technique…

I’m loving this. Cross stitch with yarn on reclaimed pegboard. I did a sign for my new shop, Pinky’s Boutique, to try it out. I kept thinking, “Wow, acrylic yarn is good for something besides yarnbombing!” and “This is WAY better than doing my dishes right now”. While I was stitching this, my toddler was sitting on my lap at times, saying, “You made this? Cute! That’s very cute!” and playing with yarn scraps – “I do this too!” Yay!

DSC_0502

Unfortunately, the idea of cross stitching on pegboard goes into the category of “Why the hell didn’t I think of that?” — so simple yet genius. I saw it today on this blog.

That being said, I’m not going to feel bad about working with this technique because it has probably been done by somebody else besides the author of the blog I saw this morning. And I don’t want to Google it because every time I do that I end up paralyzed. So, I’m just going to do my own thing. I definitely like the possibilities of this technique and I will be exploring it further. I’ve been wanting to make larger pieces lately so this is a great way to stitch bigger!

Today I’m going to cut up a bunch of pegboard and start creating some imagery!

Leave a Reply

